Interested in joining the pilot program?

Are you interested in getting Kindles for your Kids?

We are currently accepting applications from organizations and schools that work with at-risk and low income youths, in grade levels 6 to 12. Some obvious ones jump quickly to mind: Inner city school districts with a high percentage of Title I students, organizations that target at-risk and underserved populations, such as Habitat for Humanity, Teach for America, KIPP Academy, Boys and Girls Clubs of America, and the Harlem Children’s Zone Project, to name just a few. Organizations such as these have the infrastructure and programs in place that would be needed to administer the distribution and monitoring of the Kindle units. Suggestions for willing and committed organizations are welcome.

2 Responses

  1. We might be interested. Can you send some information?

  2. I teach at Menifee Middle School in Frenchburg, KY. A large percentage of our students receive free and reduced lunches and have limited access to technology at home. In addition, we are constrantly striving to improve our reading and writing scores. I believe that the Kindle could be the answer to our prayers! I came across this device while doing a research proposal for a graduate class. I had never heard of it until then, but I’m very interested in learning more and being a part of a program that would give my students (7th and 8th graders) an opportunity to be on the cutting edge of technology. I feel certain that not a single one of my students has one of these devices, and most have never heard of them. I hope you’ll help me to change that and inspire them to be interested in learning! I am a part of PTA, and if an organization, rather than teacher, must be in charge of something such as this, then I’m sure the PTA would be more than glad to step up to the challenge.

Leave a Reply

